How To Be Happier – in Four Easy Lessons.

Today there was a nice article from Happiness project. Bookmarking the same and copying the lessons here

  • To be happier, you have to think about feeling good, feeling bad, and feeling right, in an atmosphere of growth.
  • One of the best ways to make yourself happy is to make other people happy;One of the best ways to make other people happy is to be happy yourself.
  • The days are long, but the years are short.
  • You’re not happy unless you think you’re happy  corollary: You’re happy if you think you’re happy

Thinking on the second lesson drives me the importance to build my own “built-in happiness.” An emotional self-sufficiency and not to depend on other people to boost me up, or to let them drag me down.

Hence I need to try to carry my own atmosphere of happiness with me. As Goethe said, "I am the decisive element…It is my daily mood that makes the weather." I need to find good ways to keep myself emotionally self-sufficient, without isolating myself.

Be aware that having a  strong relationship builds happiness , but passing negative emotions makes other unhappy and this might lead to you become unhappier.  Hence the trick to be learnt is how to maintain relationship, but not pass negative emotions.