Media in mobile/tablets – nightmare

Different mobiles support different formats with respect to media. I wish that there is standard like XML that all mobile/tablets would ahere to. Rather the mobile companies are interested supporting advertising and camera capability. Some pointers where I am challenged and decisions made are

  • start with image type .png or .gif. I prefer .png as it is greater color depth
  • Each mobile/tablet have different sizes and support different resolutions. I go with separate images for specific mobility devices. That means my authoring software need to be able to upload images of different sizes/resolutions.
  • Next comes the orientation. May be we need to have separate images one for landscape and one for portrait.
  • Video and Audio formats supported across phones differ too. I prefer for video .mp4 or .3gp as it have wider support. For audio, I choose mp3