Siddhartha ~ Hermann Hesse

This is a wonderful book that I have read in 2013.  I would like every one to read the book. Some lines I love from the book.

  • “I can think, I can wait, I can fast.”

If a man has nothing to eat, fasting is the most intelligent thing he can do. If, for instance, the man had not learned to fast, he would have had to seek some kind of work today, either with you, or elsewhere, for hunger would have driven him. But, when the man fasts, he can wait calmly. He is not impatient, he is not in need, he can ward off hunger for a long time and laugh at it. Therefore, fasting is useful.

  • When you throw a stone in the water, it finds the quickest way to the bottom.”
  • The journey is the destination.Nothing is mine, I know nothing, I possess nothing, and I have learned nothing
  • Seeking means to have a goal, but finding means to be free, to be receptive to have no goal.

The secret of life cannot be passed from one to another, it needs to be learned by one self through one’s own experiences.